Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Centre County)

Post out of state purchase

Hi Everyone,

I am an out of state student at PSU (legal resident of NY). I recently got my carry permit for PA, which the sherrif gave to me because I am in the military. Also in the process of getting a NY permit, but the paperwork takes forever to go through (crazy liberals and their gun control laws).

Anyway, does anybody know where I can find the law(s) pertaining to non-residents or military purchasing handguns in PA?

Thanks!

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: out of state purchase

frankly you shouldn't have got a permit to carry in our state unless you got a nonresident ccw permit.

(Allegheny County)

Sorry, don't know PA laws specific to non-resident military. While I was stationed in TX, we were allowed to purchase handguns if permanent party stationed under PCS orders. Maybe this helps.

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by Jake^ View Post
    I am an out of state student at PSU (legal resident of NY). I recently got my carry permit for PA, which the sherrif gave to me because I am in the military. Also in the process of getting a NY permit, but the paperwork takes forever to go through (crazy liberals and their gun control laws).
    PCS Title 18, Chapter 61, Subchapter A, § 6109
    (e)(1) A license to carry a firearm shall be for the purpose of carrying a firearm concealed on or about one's person or in a vehicle and shall be issued if, after an investigation not to exceed 45 days, it appears that the applicant is an individual concerning whom no good cause exists to deny the license. A license shall not be issued to any of the following:
    (ix) A resident of another state who does not possess a current license or permit or similar document to carry a firearm issued by that state