Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Luzerne County)

Default Need opinion on new rifle...

I am contemplating a new rifle in .308. I have been leaning towards the Savage Law Enforcement line. I will primarily be using it for short to mid range target shooting (100-300 yards since I don't have anywhere longer to shoot) and I am not a professional sniper. I may use it for hunting but more than likely not as I have other lighter rifles for that.

I have narrowed my selection down to three models....

Model: 10 FCP HS Precision Approx $925
    Model: 10 FCP-K Approx $725
    Model: 10 FCP-SR Approx $925

...or possibly a Model: 12 BTCSS in .223 as a bench/varmint rifle which is approx. $875. I already own a Remington Sportsman 78 in .223 which I might keep for hunting.

Feel free to check these out at http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/

I like the fluted barrel and muzzle brake but also like the higher capacity magazine. The HS stock is nice but I think the Savage Accu Stock would work.

I value the opinion of people here and would be curious which you would prefer and why. Thanks for taking the time to offer an opinion.

(Cumberland County)

Wink Re: Need opinion on new rifle...