Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (York County)

Default Shipping a handgun out of state

I am not sure if this is in the right area, however, this seemed like the most appropriate place to post.

I am living in Texas and have a handgun I purchased while in PA (I am a resident of PA but stationed in Texas in the military) and I don't want to drive up there or fly just for the firearm. I found few references on how to get it to Texas without doing the aforementioned. I am interested in knowing if anyone here has done something similar or knows of someone who has. Thank you.

This is what I found....not too clear to me. Hopefully someone can clear up the term "Common or Contract Carrier" Is this like Fed Ex or UPS??

"A nonlicensee may ship a firearm by a common or contract carrier to a resident of his or her own State or to a licensee in any State. A common or contract carrier must be used to ship a handgun. In addition, Federal law requires that the carrier be notified that the shipment contains a firearm and prohibits common or contract carriers from requiring or causing any label to be placed on any package indicating that it contains a firearm."

[18 U.S.C. 922(a)(2)(A), 922(a) (3), 922(a)(5) and 922(e), 27 CFR 478.31 and 478.30]

Default Re: Shipping a handgun out of state

yes it right. Common carrier meaning UPS or FedEx and it must go ground overnight unless you have an FFL. If it's a long gun you may send it through the USPS but no handguns. The expense of shipping with UPS and FedEx is roughly $50,most FFL dealers will charge $20-30 and you get the piece of mind that the firearm was last checked in and shipped by someone other than you. UPS and FedEX have stolen guns before, and if you shipped it the police will have some questions for you and your gun gets lost forever. If that happens when the FFL shipped it, the questions are not directed at you and your gun gets replaced.

(York County)