Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Venango County)

Default Maurers Trading post

Yesterday my best friend was home from Ohio and we decided to do a little window shopping at Maurers Trading Post in Franklin. I have been kicking around the idea of buying a new handgun for a few months and I thought this would be a good opportunity to do some real shopping. What I am really after is a Glock 20SF, but yesterday I found a Sig P250 compact that I really liked. I noticed that the price was really high. I asked the owner what the best price he could do was. His reply was that the price listed was the best price he could do because Sig regulates what he can sell the guns for. Now I have nothing against this shop, I have bought many guns from them in the past. The owner is very friendly and I enjoy talking with him, but the price he had listed was $709. When I got home I started calling around to make sure I was not out of line on what I thought the price should be. I called about 8 shops in PA including Grice in Clearfield and the Cabelas in PA. What I came up with is that I can buy one for around $430-$465. If I use a site like gun broker I can get an even better deal including shipping. Like I said I am not trying to bad mouth a shop but I just don't understand how someone can expect to sell or justify selling a gun that is priced 75% higher than all the other shops.

(Venango County)

Default Re: Maurers Trading post

Well as a former employee I can tell you that sign doesn't dictate pricing, second when I worked there all of the sigs where reconditioned. Try ace in washington, pa ask for Chris smith he is a big time sig guy.

(Venango County)

Reconditioned? Are you serious? Ace in washington...I will check it out.

(Venango County)