Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default 1-4x optics, DMS, PST, CMR, etc budget*

I would like to start a discussion about these close to medium distance scopes that serve double duty as both magnified, and close range optics.

I have no experience with them. I have experience with your average 3-9x scope on a bolt action, Russian POSP stuff, a few red dot's and that's about it. Most of what I shoot is irons and well, my vision sucks. I was thinking something like this might be a good idea for me. I see these topics come up over and over so I wanted to put together a list of contenders here and have maybe some of the more experienced, or owners of these respective optics share some thoughts.

There is ONE rule however. This thread is price capped at $700. (scope only) I realize there is always a huge push for $2k glass on a $700 rifle. And I understand why. But I would never be able to utilize the benefits of one with anything I own, and I don't reload, or buy match ammo... etc.

So this is a budget oriented conversation about close / medium scopes. Particularly those with 1.X power / variable.

So far I have found the Millet DMS 1 to come up in nearly every one of these conversations. This is about a $200-250 option.

So let's start the list there.

Millet DMS-1 ($200-250) 1-4x / illum dot in a donut
    [LINK]
    Primary Arms 1-4x24 ($120) 1-4x / illum center dot
    [LINK]
    Burris TAC30 ($299) 1-4x24 / illum
    [LINK]
    Nikon M-223 1-4x20 / ($230) / no illum
    [LINK]
    Leupold VX-R 1.25-4x20 / ($399) / illum firedot
    [LINK]
    Leupold Mark AR 1-4x20 / ($269) / no illum / duplex
    [LINK]
    Vortex Viper PST 1-4x24 / ($499) / Illum TMCQ
    [LINK]
    Leatherwood CMR 1-4x24 / ($359) / Illum G circle dot
    [LINK]
    Falcon Menace 1.5-5x30 / ($245) / Illum LP20
    [LINK]