Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Beaver County)

Default Warranty Work Legal Question

This may be in the wrong place

I sent back to MFG'r a AK 74 that I couldn't bring the windage in at 25 yrds.
    They found several things wrong and want to scrap the whole gun. They will send me, to my home, (no FFL) a new complete rifle. This doesn't sound too legal to me. What do you legal gurus think?
    'It is Their Right, It is Their Duty, To Throw Off Such Government '

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Warranty Work Legal Question

Quote Originally Posted by gold eagle View Post
    This may be in the wrong place

I sent back to MFG'r a AK 74 that I couldn't bring the windage in at 25 yrds.
    They found several things wrong and want to scrap the whole gun. They will send me, to my home, (no FFL) a new complete rifle. This doesn't sound too legal to me. What do you legal gurus think?
    im not a lawyer but i have an ffl. that is perfectly legal under federal law. if you send a gun in for repair and they have to replace it the may send the replacement directly to you if state law allows that.

generally speaking if an importer or manufacturer is willing to do something it is usually legal.

(York County)

i had a beretta i sent back and they did the same thing,could'nt fix it so they scraped it and replaced it with a new one which was shiped to my home. they also sent a letter stating they kept sn##### and replaced it with sn###. i spoke to two shops and they both said, they can't do that,it has to go thru a ffl and recomended i bring it in to do paper work. i said no thank you. my thoughts are if beretta did it, its legal. if any ffl holders are here i would love to hear from ya also, because i had the same question a couple of months ago.

(Chester County)

FWIW I just went through this two weeks ago and researched the laws. S&W scrapped the frame from my .38 and I had to involve an FFL on the return of the new frame.