Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Philadelphia County)

Default My home is 500 feet from a school

Hey everyone - great message board! I'm a new resident and gun owner living in Philadelphia. It turns out the home I own is approximately 500 feet from a school. Will I have any problems getting my LTCF? The moment I step out of my house I'm technically in a school zone, am I not?

I've read a lot about what is considered school property and it gets quite confusing.

Thanks!

(Philadelphia County)

Default Re: My home is 500 feet from a school

Quote Originally Posted by teriaki View Post
    Hey everyone - great message board! I'm a new resident and gun owner living in Philadelphia. It turns out the home I own is approximately 500 feet from a school. Will I have any problems getting my LTCF? The moment I step out of my house I'm technically in a school zone, am I not?

I've read a lot about what is considered school property and it gets quite confusing.

Thanks!
    The location of your residence won't affect your LTCF eligibility.

I'm not a lawyer but I will give you what info I have.

See here for state law on schools and weapons

http://law.justia.com/codes/pennsylv...chapter-9/912/

I think the "school zone" you are talking about is the federal "Gun Free School Zones Act"

http://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/us...2----000-.html

Under this act you cannot possess a firearm within 1000 ft of a school, with certain exceptions:

(A) It shall be unlawful for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm that has moved in or that otherwise affects interstate or foreign commerce at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.
    (B) Subparagraph (A) does not apply to the possession of a firearm—
    (i) on private property not part of school grounds;