Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Dauphin County)

Default "encounter" with my disapatcher

I drive a tow truck for a living so I cant take some calls.

I called back to my shop after finishing a call and my dispatcher started giving me my next call. About half way through the information she tells me its at a middle school in the teachers parking lot.

me - I can't take that it's on school property.
    disp - Why not?
    me - I have my firearm with me.
    disp - Why do you have a gun?
    me - Self defense and because i'm licensed to and my boss (the owner of the company) said im allowed to.
    disp - Oh, ok. Well.......here is a different call then.

I know that i've told her in the past, and that it probably slipped her mind. She didn't make any sort of a deal out of it. But i figured i'd share.

(Centre County)

Red face Re: "encounter" with my disapatcher

Every now and again I need to remind my dispatchers as well. They see me OC daily in the office but since it has become common place, I suspect they forget. Also with them not knowing the law, you will still need to tell them occasionally.

It sounds like your dispatcher did not remember you carry. I put a note on their desk informing them of the places (states) I could not go.

Default Re: "encounter" with my disapatcher

It's not per se illegal for you to possess a firearm on school property, if you have a lawful purpose for possessing it.

Federal law allows your gun possession at or near PA schools as long as you have a PENNSYLVANIA license to carry firearms.

Pennsylvania law allows it if you have a lawful purpose.