Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default CC Pistol Recommendations

I am also going to post this in Concealed Carry -

I am new to CC and am trying to narrow down a gun choice. I am looking at either a "pocket gun", Kahr P380 or Sig P238 or a larger Kahr CM9 / PM9 or a Glock 26.

Want to make sure it is small enough that I will carry it, I sometimes dress in business clothes and need to tuck in a shirt. The rest of the time it's either a T shirt or sweatshirt untucked.

I like the form factor of the Kahr's, some say they are problematic with FTF / FTE. The SIG P 238 gets pretty good reviews, but it is SA only. The Glock is the Glock, but it is the largest of the bunch and would seem to be the hardest to conceal.

Thoughts?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: CC Pistol Recommendations

My first recommendation would be to shoot the guns you narrow down. Choosing a gun that you will actually carry is very important but not as important as choosing one you can actually hit something with.

The guns you mentioned all have good reviews and manufacturers who will help if any problem develops so I would not be to concerned about that. It would be a matter of checking to make sure that particular gun is reliable with whatever defensive ammo you choose.

As far as what to choose is a personal decision because what works for me may not work for you. I can tell you what I went with. I wanted to be able to always carry yet have the most firepower possible. This led me to two guns.

Keltec P3AT / Ruger LCP : Which one I use depends on whcih one my wife grabbed. They are both outfitted with Crimson trace lasers and are quite a powerful package for such a small pistol. I consider this my always gun because I can even put the Uncle Mikes clip on holster onto my boxer shorts and it stays put. There is no reason to not always have a gun on you with these available.