Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default PA resident who works in NJ: legal to have firearm in fixed place of business?

Now this is purely a hypothetical. I'm a PA resident who works in NJ. The business I work at is a privately owned establishment, and I know the owner (he's my direct boss). Assuming said owner knew and approved of it, what are the legal requirements of me (PA resident) keeping a firearm in said fixed place of business for purposes of defense?

There is only one other employee who works there other than me and the owner, and neither the owner, myself, nor the third worker are felons or are barred from access to a firearm for any reason that I know of; however they are both NJ residents and neither of them have a FOID. So I'm thinking I'd technically not be allowed to keep a gun there unless I'm always there. But I'm not sure.

Or is this a case of "you need a FOID or else."

Once again, just a hypothetical, not saying I'm doing such a thing, but I was curious as to legality of such a situation.
    Any mission, any conditions, any foe at any range.
    Twice the mayhem, triple the force.
    Ten times the action, total hardcore.

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: PA resident who works in NJ: legal to have firearm in fixed place of business?

I'm not completely up on NJ laws, but no matter what - you need a FOID card. I'm pretty sure nonresidents can get them too. And I think the firearm has to be registered.

Default Re: PA resident who works in NJ: legal to have firearm in fixed place of business?

I think it's an awesome idea, the law books need a good spanking with a red pen before it can be implemented though...

<Just in case someone notices the IP address, this is not a sock puppet, I am the employee Geoff mentioned>

(Philadelphia County)