Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default 1 pistol 2 calibers?

Hello all, I am new to guns. I picked up a very cheap used S&W Sigma 40S&W. I am pretty happy as a first time shooter, but hear of all the downsides to Sigmas. During my 3rd time to the range I was making 5 inch groupings at 25 feet and am fairly happy with that. However I am now getting the itch for a Springfield XD. I would also like an accurate 22.
    On my first trip to the range I saw a guy shooting one gun, maybe 9mm or 40 then next thing I know he was shooting 22s out of it. What’s up with these types of guns? I am sure there are some major shortcomings, but had to ask. Are there good guns that convert like this?

Thanks,
    JD

Default Re: 1 pistol 2 calibers?

almost all guns nowadays have .22 conversions

IMHO and from experience I'd dithc your S&W for an XD

I too am not a fan of the Sigma...cheap Glock knockoff.

As far as conversions.

There is an aftermarket 22 conversion for the Glocks.

Kimber offers a 22 conversion for their pistols as well.

CZ does as well.

If you are looking for a pistol caliber plus a 22 caliber.

You can also swap barrels on some firearms. Most will be a 40 S&W to 357Sig conversion...and most will only require buying another barrel. The mags are the same.

Some pistols like the EAA Witness line...you can go from 45ACP to 10mm/38 super.

In the end there are lots of options.

(Blair County)

I've used a couple of .22 conversions.