Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Need some "Hunting 101" help!

So my interest in firearms has turned into an interest in hunting. Problem is, I'm a complete NOOB when it comes to this subject. I've never been out hunting, and no one in my immediate family hunts. From reading the stickies, I know that I need to take the Hunter's Training Course before I can get a license, I know the different license types, and I know the next deer season starts at the end of November. I figure I have plenty of time, then, to get licensed and get all the equipment (rifle, scope, gear, outerwear, etc.). I have so many questions about this subject that I can't even remember them all, so I'll start with what I have on my mind right now.

Rifle:
    I know that in order to hunt in PA I need to have something bolt-action (i.e. not semi-auto). I haven't looked around very much, but here are two that I'm interested in:

When it comes to the question of caliber, I have no idea. A lot of people seem to like .308 Win or .30-06. I don't think I need some crazy super magnum (or do I?). This will mainly be a deer gun, so what calibers are good for PA whitetail?

Scope:
    Again, I know pretty much nothing. Will something like this in 3-9X be sufficient for PA hunting environments? Is it really necessary to spend upwards of $500 for a scope?

Lastly, are there any resources that you could point me to regarding getting into hunting?

Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Need some "Hunting 101" help!