Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unbelievable!

(Pike County)

Default Unbelievable!

Hi gun owners! I am a Florida resident with family property in PA, where I pay taxes, but do not vote! Florida is a no-tax state and I want to maintain my legal residence here. Here is my problem, I have lots of firearms, long and "short". I have found a nice .38 here in Florida I want to bring to PA. I am flying up and cannot carry it. My dealer here said all I should do is find a guy in PA with an FFL, buy here, ship there, pay the fees and everybody is happy. But NNNOOOOO! I cannot find a dealer in my area (Pike County) that will accept the weapon and transfer it to me without a PA drivers license. If I had a PA license, I would buy in PA!!! WTF is going on in this state? How can I get my weapon from FL to PA? BTW, I am card carrying "Concealed" registered in FL. (PA recognizes) A 20 Year Military Vetern and spent my time in 'Nam. I am 68 years old, educated, a former Airline Captain and good citizen. WTF do I have to do to get my little handgun from here to there?

(Centre County)

Default Re: Unbelievable!

If you just want to bring it to PA to carry while you visit (and maybe do a little target shooting), you can do it without using a FFL. If you have bought and paid for it in FL (you are a FL resident so you buy it under FL laws), you can transport it in your checked bags if you are flying (follow the airline rules for transporting a gun, really not a big deal). Or, if you are driving, you can put it in a case, with ammo separate, and put the case in the trunk or other inaccessible area of the vehicle and bring it that way. On the driving, you are covered by federal law (however, if driving do not go through NY or NJ, they don't seem to want to follow federal laws).

Once in PA you can carry concealed wih your FL concealed carry license (PA recognizes FLs license).