Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Blair County)

Question Revealing LTCF info. w/ LEOs -- A Newbie needs help.

Hello all!

First post on the forum, although I've been browsing for a few months now. I just recently acquired a LTCF from Blair Co. (much easier than I'd imagined) and now I've got a few questions. My father asked me earlier this evening if I knew the process regarding the off-chance I would be stopped by a LEO while I was carrying (my dad's question was in reference to driving a vehicle) - what information I should disclose to the officer, if any, and how would I go about it? And to be honest with ya'll, I thought I knew, but after reading a few posts about the subject on here, I am a little confused.

I just automatically assumed the correct and right thing to do would be to immediately inform the officer I have a LTFC (while having both hands on the steering wheel, or if on foot, my hands clearly visible and away from body) and state that I am carrying a firearm. I had assumed, since I'm not a criminal, won't be doing anything illegal, and have a legal license, I should be in the free & clear. Would this typically be the case? My demeanor and attitude towards people is constantly positive and non-threatening (I work in the hospitality industry) - so as I play the possible scenario in my head, I'm thinking that's the right course - but as I've read on here some posters feel that's not my obligation to reveal that information.

So what's up? I don't want any headaches when dealing with a situation like this, and stopping short of bending over and pulling down my pants for the officer, how can I come away with a positive experience? Any help or feedback would be greatly appreciated - I've read some other member's experiences with this, and it's just left me scratching my head even more.

Thanks!!

(Lebanon County)

Default Re: Revealing LTCF info. w/ LEOs -- A Newbie needs help.