Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Pike County)

Default Public range in Pike near Milford or Shohola?

Hello all. I'm a new resident of Shohola in Pike County. For those who aren't familiar with the area, Shohola is about 5 miles away from Milford.

Are there any public ranges near my home? How about pay-to-use ranges that permit more than 3 rounds in a magazine?

Finally, are the public ranges safe to use; i.e. are they patrolled by rangers? Had a scary experience when I was in CA at a public range. A group of intoxicated persons started firing on passing cars below the range. Suffice it to say, I high-tailed it out of there and notified the ranger station immediately.

(Pike County)

Default Re: Public range in Pike near Milford or Shohola?

Welcome to the neighborhood.

SGL 183 range is located directly off of Rte. 6 just west of you. The closest private clubs I am aware of aren't really "close", figure on having to travel at least an hour to join a quality rifle range. I am a member at Ontelaunee, for instance, which has a 300yd rifle range but is a solid hour away.

The public rifle ranges (SGL ranges) are fine when the tourists don't overrun the place. Most weekdays and some weekends you will have the rifle range to yourself. I've been shooting at 183 for going on nine years without actually seeing a game warden, YMMV (there are no dedicated range officers, per se). The pistol range and 50yd. range will generally have a much higher nimrod count. You'll see the occassional entire family of idiots waving loaded handguns around like they are water pistols.

Quote Originally Posted by amstel78 View Post
    Hello all. I'm a new resident of Shohola in Pike County. For those who aren't familiar with the area, Shohola is about 5 miles away from Milford.

Are there any public ranges near my home? How about pay-to-use ranges that permit more than 3 rounds in a magazine?