Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (York County)

Default PA Homeowner, but NJ Resident, LTCF and transport

Hi guys, I am new to the site, but it looks very informative. I have searched but can't find an answer to my question.

I own a home in Wrightsville, PA, but I am a NJ resident. As everyone here knows, getting a LTCF in NJ is pretty much impossible at this time. Can I get a non-resident LTCF in PA?

Also, can I legally transport my weapon between my home in NJ and my home in PA? (Obviously unloaded and locked up in the trunk).

Thanks in advance for your responses.

(Chester County)

Default Re: PA Homeowner, but NJ Resident, LTCF and transport

Quote Originally Posted by jashev View Post
    Hi guys, I am new to the site, but it looks very informative. I have searched but can't find an answer to my question.

I own a home in Wrightsville, PA, but I am a NJ resident. As everyone here knows, getting a LTCF in NJ is pretty much impossible at this time. Can I get a non-resident LTCF in PA?

Also, can I legally transport my weapon between my home in NJ and my home in PA? (Obviously unloaded and locked up in the trunk).

Thanks in advance for your responses.

You can't get a Pa LTCF unless you have an NJCCW.

NJ statutes do not provide for your transport between residences except when moving - this means that there are issues while you are within NJ during your proposed trips. FOPA transporation protection attaching to PA<>NJ transport is debatable but IMO the answer is that it doesn't apply to you.
    IANAL

(Monroe County)

Changing your residency seems like a no brainer. Beside being able to get a LTCF, I would imagine you would save on taxes, and car insurance...

"I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty
    than to those attending too small a degree of it."~Thomas Jefferson, 1791
    Hobson fundraiser Remember SFN Read before you Open Carry

Oh so close to the Delaware River!, New Jersey