Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Double Action/Single Action vs Constant Action

Hey all,

I hit the NRA convention last weekend with Mrs. BryanS, and we were looking around and fondling various firearms in our search for our first purchase. We've basically decided on the Baretta PX4 in 9mm variety, but we have one question. What is the difference between the Type F (Double Action/Single Action) and the Type C (Constant Action)? We're looking for pros and cons, and please keep in mind, that we are both relatively new to firearms.

Thanks,
    BryanS

Default Re: Double Action/Single Action vs Constant Action

i have been eyeballing a px4 for the past 4 months and i researched the topic as well. i cant comment on it extensively right now bc im at work right now but to cut to the chase the DA/SA is the traditional long first pull which cocks the hammer and the subsequent rounds are single action (light trigger weight) because the hammer is already in its cocked state.

If you, like myself, are looking for the closest px4 action to a Springfield XD, Glock, or other striker fired pistol then you would be interested in the constant action. The constant action is pretty much the same as the glocks/XDs however the trigger pull is a about two pounds heavier. The reason why the trigger lbs differs from the aforementioned pistols is that each trigger pull has to finish fully cocking the striker more so than the glock. I havent handled a glock but its debated that the trigger pull on a glock moves the striker just a very little bit as well. Nonetheless the px4 engages the striker more so than the glock or xd but the action (if you are trying to compare it to something) is the same.
    Last edited by beast1989; May 8th, 2011 at 04:17 PM.

(Allegheny County)