Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Fayette County)

Question State Game Lands & State Forests

My cousin and her husband lives in Fayette county near the State Game Lands #138 in the Chestnut Ridge mountains.

He said that he often just takes his quad back into the game lands or state forest and shoots rifles when its not rifle hunting season.

Now, he doesn't know much about law and is just a good country boy that wouldn't want to purposely cause any trouble.

So I was wondering, what are the rules in PA about shooting in those two areas?

He's been doing it since he was a kid and thinks it isnt illegal.
    And Im new to the state, but it seems like PA has some screwed up laws about shooting on public land.

Can anyone verify this?
    Thanks!
    "One must be a fox to recognize traps, and a lion to frighten wolves” ~ Machiavelli

(Northampton County)

Default Re: State Game Lands & State Forests

http://forum.pafoa.org/concealed-ope...nsylvania.html

That's where you can and cannot carry in the commonwealth, and the stipulations therein. As far as just going into the woods and cracking off a few rounds, unless its in a designated area, I don't think that's legal.

Then again, if a rifleman shoots in the forest, and nobody is there to hear him...

(Jefferson County)

I think the ATV's on Game Lands is certainly a violation unless it is an approved path or road.

I cant remember the details about the target shooting itself, but I think that if he isn't randomly shooting, nor shooting into live trees, and that there is a dead stump and/or protective natural backstop - he might be legal for target shooting.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!