Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Delaware County)

Default Snub nose .38 Special.

I've only ever owned autos, however this weekend I plan on buying my first revolver. I've always wanted a snub nose revolver in .38 Special. Any suggestions from revolver enthusiasts, as to which brand or model would be a good choice? Five or six round cylinder, is okay.

Thanks for reading/answering my question.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: Snub nose .38 Special.

Like you, I'm new to revolvers, so after offering my thoughts, I'll also sit back and await the opinions of the experts.

Does it have to be a .38 special, and only a .38 special? Again, I'm a revolver rookie, but my understanding is that a revolver that will shoot .357 magnum rounds, will also shoot .38 specials (but not the other way around). That being the case (and if it is the case without exception), you might want to consider what I picked up: The Ruger SP101 .357 magnum w/2.25" barrel:

http://www.ruger.com/products/sp101/index.html

Or, something like the Smith & Wesson 686 or 686 Plus (.357 magnum w/2.50" barrel).

http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/w...layErrorView_Y

If you have no interest in firing .357 magnum, then I'd give serious consideration to the Smith & Wesson 642, or other of their Airweight revolvers:

http://www.smith-wesson.com/webapp/w...layErrorView_Y

If you don't go with .357/.38 special, I'd suggest that whatever .38 special revolver you pick up be +P rated.

The above is the "short list" I came up with when shopping for mine. And, to be sure, there are probably dozens of other fine choices out there that I'm unaware of. But, having just gone through this myself, I thought I'd pass along my thoughts.
    "I don't care what went wrong. I beat the snot out of it until it works" - Clint Smith

(Bucks County)

I have a taurus 85 ultra-lite and I love it. 38 special only, exposed hammer.
    I am no expert but if you have questions ask away.