Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Shooting .22lr at steel

I see a lot of people shooting steel with various calibers (in videos like on youtube) and a lot of people are shooting at questionably close distances. I'm just getting into steel targets but have been a shooter for many years. I wouldn't feel comfortable standing as close as I have seen some (<15 yards) unless I was shooting frangible ammo. A lot of people are shooting fmjs.

In the case of .22lr, lets say, using CCI ammo, how close would you be comfortable with shooting at steel?

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: Shooting .22lr at steel

10 yards....because I stand beside shooters throwing .38 Super at steel at that range all day long with no ill effects if the target is clean and setup right.

Lycananglesmatterthrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Chester County)

I shoot .22 in my basement sometimes. All you need is a little angle of deflection. The bullet completely flattens out or disentegrates. Use common sense. Steel spinning targets are safe as well becuase at the moment of impact, the steel spins giving way to deflection. If shooting at steel no matter what video you see, always put it at an angle and you want have to worry about it coming back at you. We have all seen the youtube video where a guy is shooting a .50 bmg round that is AP (tungsten core) at a very thick peice of hardened steel at long distance and the round failed to penetrate and came back to hit him in his ear muffs. ALWAYS PUT STEEL AT AN ANGLE FOR DEFLECTION!!! This isnt rocket science. I do however line up steel when i know i have a mild peice of steel and i have a round that will penetrate it based on circumstance.

(Cumberland County)