Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default What can you tell me about the auto ordnance 10mm?

What can you tell me about the auto ordnance 1911 in 10mm? I had a buddy recently buy one from this weekends gun show. Is it a good gun close but not quite a Colt Delta? He was asking what other rounds could his gun shoot.

He asked if 40 cal was a short 10mm then it probably would load the magazine and feed but may not have enough power operated the slide.

I warned that you should only shot 10mm ammo in that gun. And you may even get lots FTF because the 40 cal is shorter then a 10mm.

I also informed him that the gun will shoot nothing like the mild report of 45acp, its closer 41 magnums report.

Did I steer him right that 40 cal shouldn't be shot out of a 10mm.

(Montgomery County)

Default Re: What can you tell me about the auto ordnance 10mm?

I'm no expert, but I would imagine that it would be a bad idea, since the shorter .40 S&W round would not be properly head-spaced in the longer 10mm chamber.

If it were my gun, I wouldn't do it.

You can probably get .40 S&W conversion barrels and magazines and do it, though, since the breech face should work with both calibers (might need a lighter recoil spring as well?)

Again though - I am speculating, and am not an expert... Hopefully Lycanthrope or someone else will be along to clarify...

Regards,

Bones

Quote Originally Posted by Neko456 View Post
    I also informed him that the gun will shoot nothing like the mild report of 45acp, its closer 41 magnums report.

Did I steer him right that 40 cal shouldn't be shot out of a 10 mm.
    You're right on both counts.

The 10mm was developed for the FBI, to provide magnum-like ballistics in an autoloader, but then the Bureau decided it was too much of a good thing. They used reduced power 10 mm loads for a while, and then the 10 pretty much gave way to the .40 S&W.

(Montgomery County)