Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Butler County)

Default information about competition?

I am new to firearms but I love good competition. Guns are not in my family but after reading about 2 years worth of americas 1st freedom and american rifleman as well as being an economics/political science major my interest was peaked and I had to buy myself a couple of handguns to learn on.

I was hoping that some of you could provide me with links I can watch about pistol shooting and how to improve my technique.

I also wanted to hear about what kinds of competitive events there are to compete in. Honestly anything that you think would benefit me and lead me on the right path towards becoming a more responsible and better pistol shooter would be awesome...in fact I will devour it!!!

Thanks in advance friends.

Matt

(Monroe County)

Default Re: information about competition?

If you are new to the gun culture, I would implore you to invest in some real-life training. Start with a basic safety course then go from there.

A small investment in time and money could make the difference between a lifetime of safe and enjoyable shooting activities or a moment you could regret the rest of your life.

Be safe.

(Monroe County)

http://thefiringline.com/Misc/safetyrules.html

Jeff Cooper's Rules of Gun Safety

RULE I: ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED

RULE II: NEVER LET THE MUZZLE COVER ANYTHING YOU ARE NOT WILLING TO DESTROY

RULE III: KEEP YOUR FINGER OFF THE TRIGGER UNTIL YOUR SIGHTS ARE ON THE TARGET

RULE IV: BE SURE OF YOUR TARGET

RULE I: ALL GUNS ARE ALWAYS LOADED