Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 13 1234511 ... LastLast
    (Northampton County)

Default Legality Of Open Carry

First off, I know the search button works, but would like to have a discussion about this on a thread so I can clear some things up. I am a Police Officer and had a debate on Open Carry.

Officers were telling me the following:
    - You must conceal your firearm when you have a concealed permit
    - If police are called to the scene you MUST identify yourself and give the officer your ID or you will be arrested
    - How do I know this person who is open carrying isn't a felon or doesn't have warrants

I explained to the officers how it is a LTCF and you would not even find the word concealed or permit on the license. We have absolutely no right to retreive ID from an individual who has done nothing wrong. Open carrying is legal and you do no need a LTCF to do it. I would like to see caselaw or any type of written statute that shows what Police can and can't do with citizens who open carry. I would like to educate my department. Thank You.

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Legality Of Open Carry

Tell them to read the REQUIRED MPOETC. It's updated since ..oh say....2009, and specifically addresses open carry.

http://www.lildobe.net/PAFOA_Docs/MP...pdate_2009.pdf

Question #3- What can police legally do when they observe a person engaging in
    open carry?
    Answer #3- In most cases, the police cannot engage the person in anything other
    than a mere encounter.
    Unless the person engaged in lawful open carry is in
    violation of a specific State or Federal firearm prohibition or is carrying in a
    restricted area (For example: prohibitions contained in §6105, possession by a
    minor §6110.1, possession on school property §912, possession in a court
    facility §913, carrying in Philadelphia §6108, carrying in a vehicle, carrying
    during a declared state of emergency §6107), the officer would not have specific