Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default State / Federal Requirement to keep Hand Gun Records

I was just in a discussion with my boss regarding handgun registry. He was not aware of any requirement to register a hand gun in any state at the time of sale. I am under the impression that each state is required to keep a registry of legally sold hand guns. If one is to be sold privately the two parties need to make the transaction at a licensed firearms distributer. I don't know if this is a Federal mandate or it is a requirement by each individual state. I know sales of long rifles and shotguns do not need registry if the sale is private.

Am I wrong? Is this only in PA? Can anyone help me out?

Thanks

Ryan
    Last edited by Millhouse76; March 2nd, 2011 at 03:09 PM.

(Bucks County)

Default Re: State / Federal Requirement to keep Hand Gun Records

IANAL
    (I am not a lawyer)

But, as far as I know keeping a database is illegal so what they do is keep a transfer record.
    Maybe someone who knows more on the subject can give you better advice and help, just my 22lr cartridge.
    <-Click For My Youtube [Don't waive your rights with your flags. -Sage Francis]

(Jefferson County)

A federal registration is illegal under federal law. Even state registrations may fall under that law too the way it is worded - the Supremacy Clause would be the factor. There is absolutely no federal requirement that states keep a registry/record.

PA is one of 5 or so states that require recorded transfers. Then there are 4 or 5 states that have full-blown registration of handguns. Of the 10 states that require records transfers or registration - the gun must be taken to a FFL, or in some states the police to enter it into records.