Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default Back to Basics: Why So Much Trouble Staying on Target With Lightweight Guns?

I generally do well with my heavier guns: The SIG P220 Super Match, the SA Range Officer, the CZ-75. But, when I take my Glocks (especially the 21SF) and now the FNP-45 to the range, I tend to start strong (first couple of rounds), and then drift down between 6 and 7 o'clock.

After some serious consideration, and re-visiting some grip technique YouTube videos, I believe that I may not be exerting the proper 60/40 (60 with my left/control hand) grip strength, and in fact, reversing it.

To me, that would seem to make sense, as I'm thinking it may not be as critical with a heavier gun. But, as always, your thoughts are appreciated.

As an aside, I've been shooting for about 18 months now, and this is really frustrating. Having those days when you feel like you might as well have just set your ammo money on fire, kinda stinks.

Thanks!
    Mark
    "I don't care what went wrong. I beat the snot out of it until it works" - Clint Smith

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Back to Basics: Why So Much Trouble Staying on Target With Lightweight Guns?

marks, i am by no means an expert, but pulling 6 is almost always pushing down, and 7 is almost always jerking the trigger.

as far as 60-40, i don't know if i believe in that as much as others. i'm more of 100-100. as much of both hands as possible, and a high tang grip. watch this video, he explains it a lot better than i do. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nm9uG5bPubw

by the way, howdy neighbor!!! (warminster)

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: Back to Basics: Why So Much Trouble Staying on Target With Lightweight Guns?

The good part is that your paying attention and experimenting , keep that up and you'll see changes and progress .
    Check this out :
    http://www.firearmstrainingandtactic...ts+back+target