Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Dauphin County)

Default AR Newbie Q: keep .223 and 5.56 brass separate?

I am new to the AR world but see myself staying involved. I am really enjoying this, my first long gun in several decades. And I hope to see some savings going forward by reloading.

Right now I have M193 Centurion 55gr FMJ, and some American Eagle and Samson (IMI) 50 and 55gr .223 JHP. I know from reading here there is some difference in the dimensions of the two cases and the pressures each is expected to generate.

My question: Should I treat this brass as all .223 for reloading purposes, or keep the two separate and reload them as two different batches, or load everything as 5.56?

I searched this forum, read through a 2008 thread sort of related to my issue, but am still not certain which way to go. Any advice appreciated.
    -gonzo, SoCenPA. "Before all else, be armed." --Niccolo Machiavelli
    http://forum.pafoa.org/feedback-109/...nzogeezer.html

(Bucks County)

Default Re: AR Newbie Q: keep .223 and 5.56 brass separate?

That is an excellent question. I don't have the answer, so I'll lurk over here and watch the answers come rolling in!

(Clarion County)

Good luck on the savings. Yes the ammo may become cost effective over time, but if you're like most you'll end up shooting more. As for loading the brass it depends on what your goals are. If going for max or near max loads they should be separated and worked up, from data specific to each cartridge. Must admit I have little .223 brass. I am currently tailoring my full loads to 5.56 keeping all variables the same, headstamps and so on. My mild plinking loads, which are easily under max for both, are mixed brass.
    It ain't what they call you, it's what you answer to.