Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Pike County)

Post Wondering about NRA pistol/ rifle instructor qualifications

Im wondering about the qualifications for the NRA pistol/rifle. Im in the marine corps right now as a combat marksmanship instructor and ive been doing it for about 9 months now and i love it. And i was wondering when i get out how do i go and get certified for the NRA instructor course. Do they have requirments?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Wondering about NRA pistol/ rifle instructor qualifications

I am certified as an NRA RSO and Pistol Instructor.

My recommendation: save your money and time. I think you would be bored out out of your skull.

I find NRA courses to be redundant, dumb-ed down to the lowest common denominator (open book test so everyone can pass and thereby NRA gets more money) and full of NRA marketing B.S.

Don't get me wrong, in terms of safety they have set a very good standard in all of the disciplines. But dollar for dollar I think there are better courses to take for greater learning experience. Going to a nationally recognized instructor like Hackathorn, Ayoob, Givens, Smith or any number of others would be a far better use of your time and money.

Of course, if you are looking for those particular credentials then go for it.

I am now going to put on my flame retardant suit so all those who love the NRA can trash what I have said.

For the record, I told the NRA to cancel my life membership back in 2003 due to their failure to respond to several important inquiries I made and due to their continued waffling on the issues. It is my opinion that there are other organizations that will honestly fight for your RTKBA. Like GOA and JPFO.

(Luzerne County)

Say what you want about the NRA, but they are still the most widely recognized basic instruction school. Check their website to find out more about what is required.