Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Perry County)

Default NRA basic pistol course

I've been looking at taking the NRA basic pistol course but have some questions.

Do they teach you the proper way to shoot a handgun? I've been using handguns for a few years now and I'm fairly decent but I want someone who is experienced and good to make sure I'm not doing something wrong. Basically I want to be better.

It seems its either this, which might not be enough, or a defensive pistol course, which while I might want to take one down the line, I think that is too much right now. Also, it seems that you have to have the basic NRA course done to do these anyway.

So whats the deal with the cost of the class? I've seen the cost as low as $35 and as high as $200. It's the same class right?

(Lancaster County)

Smile Re: NRA basic pistol course

NRA basic course is usually 10 hrs long and the price is set by the individual instructor and not the NRA. and yes the instructor should be showing you how to shoot properly and help in breaking any past bad habits..

(Northampton County)

Default Re: NRA basic pistol course