Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Color Case Hardening Restoration?

Since the color case hardening finish is starting to wear off on my Beretta Stampede, I was wondering, is it possible to get that finish re-done (restored)? I've heard of Turnbull - seems to be a popular choice?

On the site it mentions that the pices listed only apply to pre-polished and dissambeled parts - so what exactly should one do? Disassemble my revolver and send it to them that way?

Just looking for some general info as I have no experience in this matter.

Thanks.

Default Re: Color Case Hardening Restoration?

Way,

I'm not sure about the Beretta, But back in my younger days of playing with Black Powder Kit guns I seem to recall old West Case Hardening was done with crushed Bone Meal - I can't remember the recipe though, I also remember reading it could be done simply by heating the polished parts and quenching them in Motor Oil.

It seems to me if the one site Requires the parts be Disassembled and Polished, You might as well go to the Next step and do it yourself. I'm sure in this Modern age of Computers You should be able to find something on "The Google"

Or You could contact Beretta about re-doing the finish and who knows, maybe they would do it as a warranty thing.

TJB
    Recoil Happens

(Jefferson County)

Most guns these days are just "case colored". Not truly "case color hardened." It is a chemical process which just oxidizes the metal surface like bluing.

Where as case hardened requires the metal object to be heated in a kiln at 1000'F for an hour, then quenching it in water or oil. It is heated with other ingredients like charcoal, bone, and leather. It hardens the surface, embeds some carbon and oxidizes the metal which results in the coloring you see.