Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default What kind of optics for Sub2000?

I recently purchased a 9mm Sub2000, and want to add some optics to it. The factory front sight is ugly as all hell, and I have a hard time using it with ear protectors on. I plan on hacking off the sight, and switching to a cheap optics setup for plinking (up to 50 yards, no more). I do not intend to hunt or fight zombies with this thing, so I'm not looking to drop a ton of cash. I am planning on attaching whatever optics I get to a quick release riser (NCStar) so I don't defeat the folding ability of the carbine. I have very little experience with optics up to this point, so I'm not sure where to begin. I was thinking that a red dot or reflex sight would be fun, but I'm not sure which would be better for my setup. The only factor in buying a cheap scope is that the rifle has a suprising amount of recoil for being a 9mm carbine, so I want a scope that can take it. Any suggestions?

-Thanks

(Allegheny County)

Default Re: What kind of optics for Sub2000?

Quote Originally Posted by Last Resort View Post
    I recently purchased a 9mm Sub2000, and want to add some optics to it. The factory front sight is ugly as all hell, and I have a hard time using it with ear protectors on. I plan on hacking off the sight, and switching to a cheap optics setup for plinking (up to 50 yards, no more). I do not intend to hunt or fight zombies with this thing, so I'm not looking to drop a ton of cash. I am planning on attaching whatever optics I get to a quick release riser (NCStar) so I don't defeat the folding ability of the carbine. I have very little experience with optics up to this point, so I'm not sure where to begin. I was thinking that a red dot or reflex sight would be fun, but I'm not sure which would be better for my setup. The only factor in buying a cheap scope is that the rifle has a suprising amount of recoil for being a 9mm carbine, so I want a scope that can take it. Any suggestions?