Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Gun on School Property

First Post, new member

I've been searching these forums and there's a lot of wonderful and helpful information but my problem is pretty specific.

I am a teacher and I live quite far from my school. There are few if any options for target shooting near my home, but there is an indoor range very near my school.

I would like to be able to leave work, go to the range, and then return home.

So, I'm just wondering if anyone has any idea on the legality of leaving my gun, unloaded, locked in the trunk of my car at the school, and then heading to the range.

The two conflicting laws that I think apply here are:
    First:
    18 Pa.C.S. § 912
    (b) Offense defined.--A person commits a misdemeanor of the first degree if he possesses a weapon in the buildings of, on the grounds of, or in any conveyance providing transportation to or from any elementary or secondary publicly-funded educational institution, any elementary or secondary private school licensed by the Department of Education or any elementary or secondary parochial school.
    (c) Defense.--It shall be a defense that the weapon is possessed and used in conjunction with a lawful supervised school activity or course or is possessed for other lawful purpose.

Second:
    "18 Pa.C.S. § 6106
    (a) Offense defined.--
    (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who carries a firearm in any vehicle or any person who carries a firearm concealed on or about his person, except in his place of abode or fixed place of business, without a valid and lawfully issued license under this chapter commits a felony of the third degree.