Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Lehigh County)

Default Bad LCP or Bad ammo?

I bought my Ruger LCP around a year ago. Since then I have put 400 rounds through it at the range. Initially it had trouble with Gold Dots jamming so I carried it with FMJ rounds until 6 months ago when I began carrying it with Glaser Powerball. On my last trip to the range, over the weekend, I decided to fire off all my remaining Powerball since I thought the gun was past its break in period. The 6+1 resulted in a failure to fire due to a light strike on the 2nd shot and a failure to eject on the 4th. When I fired my extra mag with 6 more Powerball I had another light strike on the 2nd shot and a jam on the feed after the 4th shot. This is particularly troubling because these are the rounds I have been carrying for the past 6 months. I guess my question is: How do you really know what kind of ammo is right for your gun without spending hundreds on testing defensive ammo at the range? The guys at the range (where I had bought the Powerball ammo) blamed all of this on my LCP which has not had any problems since the Gold Dots when it was brand new. This seems like an extremely high rate of issues for ammo that was $1.50/ round. Especially since I then fired another 50 rounds of cheap FMJ without a single issues. Is my LCP destined to only be carried with FMJ or is it time to consider upgrading to an LC9? Has anyone had similar problems with their LCP and what types of ammo corrected this?

(Bucks County)

Default Re: Bad LCP or Bad ammo?