Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Cleveland, but looking to relocate to Oil City, Ohio

Default Advice on Oil City Area

I currently live in the Cleveland, Ohio area with my girlfriend. She is originally from Oil City and her family still lives there. I am looking to find a job in that area and relocate so that when our baby is born, she can be closer to family. I currently work in IT but could possibly be looking to change careers to Law Enforcement. Does anyone have any advice to help me out? Could anyone help with employment opportunities? I appreciate the answers ahead of time.

(Venango County)

Default Re: Advice on Oil City Area

I don't know what to tell you. There is definitely a depressed economy here and jobs are available, but not very many. Electralloy , producer of high quality stainless , hires occasionally. The Joy in Franklin occasionally.
    OCPD would not be my choice of LEO employment. Sheriff Eric Foy is a good man and might possibly be hiring.

There is always WalMart, Ha Ha.
    You know why a banana is like a politician?
    When he first comes in he is green, then he turns yellow and then he's rotten.

(Venango County)

Xpertz speaks the truth about the area. The economy is certainly depressed and it is difficult to find a good paying job. There are several smaller companies in the area that may need an IT person, but I would expect wages to be low. It is usually difficult to get into one of the better paying jobs at a place like Joy. Many of the area police are also not payed well. I imagine that Franklin and Oil City probably pays police a decent wage, but not the smaller departments. I know several LEOs that could make more money at Wal-Mart. If you are willing to commute an hr or so away, the options for decent employment really start to open up.