Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Delaware County)

Thumbs up Range Report PT1911SS 9mm

Well I'm a day earlier than I thought on this report. I picked up my 9mm this morning and figured no time like the present!
    Let me qualify this post with, I'M NOT AN EXPERT ON THE 1911! {nor any other gun} This is my second 1911, I only bought my 1st one, 3 weeks ago. I might make some side by side comparisons with my Springfield RO.

I got to the range a little early since I already had made plans to meet up with another guy to shoot his new M&P15. Isn't Christmas a fun time of year.....
    I stripped it down and gave it a good cleaning in the back of my van.
    I thought this was coming the Str8 eight sights, but it has the 3 dot Novak setup. The rear sight actually say "Novak" on it. Does that make this a standard Novac dovetail? I don't know. I've read about guys trying to put after market sights on yours, and these having funky non standard cuts.

I took 300 rounds with me to the range. All were 115gr. Federal, Blazer and WWB in FMJ. Remington 115gr HPs from wally world. I also took 50rds. of 115gr LRN reloads.{mid range in power 3.8grs. of Greendot}
    At my gun club you have 2 options, 50' or 25yds. Or if you can qualify, you can shoot 50yds.{yeah right, that'll never happen...smirk} I decided to shoot at 50' to start since most of my shooting is at that distance and I was more concerned with function. All my shooting was 2 handed unsupported.

I started with one box of Blazer, Federal and WWB FMJ. Each box was sent down range on it's own target. Out of this first 150rds, not one round had any failures of any kind....sigh. The gun performed flawless!
    Pretty much tore the center out of all 3 targets. No fault of the gun, I had my share of flyers.