Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (York County)

Default a question about carying in a vehicle

first i would like to say hello to everyone, i am new to PAFOA and to carrying a firearm. now to the point of this thread. now i understand that you must have a valid liscense to carry to have a loaded handgun in a vehicle but what about if you are a passenger in the vehicle and that vehicle is not registered to you? i called my county sherrif dept. and what the guy told me was that as long as the gun is on you and not in a glove box under the seat in the center consol etc. you will be fine also as long as the driver is not a convicted felon or someone who is unable to have firearms. now whats confuseing me is that § 6106 says "any person who carries a firearm in ANY vehicle..." and §6109 it sasy" a ltcf shall be for the purpose of carrying a firearm conceald on or about ones person or IN A VEHICLE..." i havent read anything that says it has to remain on my person and not in the glove box if i am a passenger. the way i am understanding this is that it dosnt matter what vehicle and it dosnt matter where at in the vehicle the firearm is as long as i am with that vehicle the firearm is in and i have a valid ltcf (which i do have) im within the law. now to make things more complicated i am 22 and my fiancee is 20, is there any restrictions the the fact that she is unable to even posses a handgun if i am carrying in her vehicle as a passenger?i asked the sherrif the same question and again he said as long as its on my persons i am fine. i am thrying to understand the law so i dont get myself or anyone else in trouble beceause of my ignorance to the law thats no excuse. i hope someone can help me and i hope i explained my question right

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: a question about carying in a vehicle

Let me start with a request; please, for the love of all things reasonable, use paragraphs.