Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    (Pike County)

Default complete newb ie to AR's ?

I would like to order an AR 10 (.308), I have seen some threads about being able to change out the uppers to a different caliber (maybe .223/5.56) first is this possible?, and if so what brands of AR would you reccommend. My purpose for an AR is Long Range Target mainly. Although if Pa. ever changes its hunting rules about semi-autos it would come in handy as well. Will/is the Magazine well the same on these two cal. Like i said, complete newbie, but starting to learn. (BTW, my first thought is to start with the DPMS line, say maybe the LR308, maybe even the LR308L)
    harry (hgsw67)

(Washington County)

Default Re: complete newb ie to AR's ?

There are few systems that allow for the change of 223/556 to 308. Mainly because the .308 is longer physically, so it the magazine. So you would need a magwell change to go with an upper change.

Colt has one coming out, and the other option that comes to mind is this one, and only think its an AR to AK magwell change.
    http://www.mgi-military.com/index.php?id=27&sub_id=17

I love my DPMS LR-308. Very accurate and recoil is practically non-existant.

No , ya can't change from .223 to .308 in the same rifle. Magazines , stocks , handguards , upper receivers , lower receivers , recoil buffers , bolts , bolt carriers , barrels , and ever some fire control parts are much bigger in the .308 rifles. About the only parts that interchange between my AR-15 and LR-308 are the pistol grip and the charging handle.
    I don't speak English , I talk American!