Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 7 12345 ... LastLast
    (Allegheny County)

Default Crossbow or Compound Bow

I'm going to begin archery hunting next season I owned a PSE compound bow and 3d target had to sell prior to hunting season due to financial problems at the time. I have since shot a crossbow belonging to my buddy and i'm far more accurate but then again i have limited experience. I'm just curious what everyone's thoughts are on which to use for my first season.
    "I would rather have my freedom and face the danger."

(Berks County)

Default Re: Crossbow or Compound Bow

I caved in and got a crossbow because I wasn't that good with a bow. I shot two really nice bucks in the past three years with it. One would have scored Pope and Young but won't count because it was taken with a crossbow. After murdering this last one at twelve yards, It's lost something and not as exciting. I even felt dirty inside like I cheated. Next year I'm going back to try and practice getting better with the bow and arrow. Maybe even use my dad's custom long bow(he just died in Febuary). Many states don't even consider crossbows sporting weapons. Taking a doe with a bow and arrow means a lot more than shooting a nice buck with a crossbow. Do yourself a favor before you cross over to the darkside. Try a regular compound bow. Taxidermist told me that crossbows increased his business 50%. I shot two practice arrows this year and put them in a 2 inch ring at twenty yards, then went hunting. Aim and shoot. no skill required.As with the introduction of early inline muzzzleloader, the game commission just wants to sell licenses.

(Allegheny County)

Quote Originally Posted by sixstringer View Post