Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default January Antlerless

I'm a new resident of PA and this concept of an extended season is interesting. How many people hunt in January for those WMU's that allow you to do so and how is it during that month?
    "If guns cause crime then all of mine are defective." -Ted Nugent

(Lehigh County)

Default Re: January Antlerless

I hunt in January if I don't get a deer during the regular season. I typically won't kill more than 1 deer a year.
    When you are called a racist, it just means you won an argument with an Obama supporter.

(Lehigh County)

I hunts and hunts till I can't hunts no more.

(Wayne County)

Quote Originally Posted by A-5 View Post
    I hunts and hunts till I can't hunts no more.
    ^^^^^THIS!^^^^^ LMAO!!

I hunt the late flintlock season. You ask "How is it?" Up here, it's generally COLD! I've been out before when it's minus 7 or 8.

In my experience, the deer are still pretty spooky.

They still move mostly at night unless they're in subdivisions.

There are a lot LESS hunters afield so the deer aren't getting pushed much and are oftentimes yarded up and/or bedded down, so you see less deer.

There are a lot LESS hunters afield so you usually have hundreds if not thousands of acres to yourself. Personally, I like this time of year over all the other seasons.

The cold temps make the snow crunchy/squeeky so it is more difficult to move quietly while still hunting.

The cold temps make it more difficult to stand hunt for long periods making it necessary to still hunt just to keep warm.

You aren't required to wear orange (I can't speak for the special reg areas, I'm just talking about late flintlock in general). It's pretty cool sneaking about in full snow camouflage! I've had coyotes run right up on me because they couldn't see me. THAT'S a cool enough reason to do it right there, IMO!

Hope that helps.
    Sed ego sum homo indomitus

(Jefferson County)