Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default 7mm-08 versus .308 ,recoil

I took out my New Savage to the range on Monday to sight it in , its the Model 16 in SS, .308, great Rifle great round , my favorite round in an autoloader, The rifle were laser accurate with a Nikon 3-9 scope on top , But i find the recoil from the Bolt Action a too much for my shoulders being that i have damage to my rotator cuffs , after a while my shoulders hurt like hell.

I were wondering if the 7mm-08 round would be milder but with similar ballistics, i really love the .308 and would keep it too.

Anybody ever shot a .308 and 7mm-08? I have never even seen a 7mm-08 much less shot one so i have no experience to go by.

How do they compaRE RECOIL wise?

Thanks Nyman

(Lawrence County)

Default Re: 7mm-08 versus .308 ,recoil

The 7mm-08 has less recoil....especially if you get down in the 120gr bullet range.

A .243 is even kinder with 100gr pills.

If I had shoulder issues, I'd get a muzzle brake.

Lycangetabrakethrope

I taught Chuck Norris to bump-fire.

(Perry County)

The .243, 7mm-08 and .308 all use the same base cartridge. The 7mm is necked down, so one gets more speed and less recoil with the lower bullet weights. The .243 is just more of the same, with really light bullets the recoil gets very tolerable, and speeds are excellent. Bullet weighs up past 100 are usually recommended for deer.

So to answer your question the way you asked it; yes, the 7mm will give you slightly less recoil all things being equal. The .243 even a bit less, .260 Rem is right between the .243 (6mm) and 7.mm at 6.5 mm. All excellent cartridges, with big followings among knowledgable shooters.

(Cambria County)

If it's just going to be for deer,go with the 243.7mm-08 isn't that much "lighter" in recoil.