Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Went shooting today

Brought my Glock 19 and H&K USP and rented a Ruger Security Six. To be perfectly honest, I sucked with the semi's and rocked with the wheelie. I haven't shot a revolver in about seven years and I decided today that needed to change. Fired both .38 and .357 through the old gal, recoil with the .38's is not felt but .357 was fairly rough. I was a tack driver with the .38's with basically one big hole. .357 was about 2 inch groups. I think I'm made to be a revolver shooter. I have always shot tight groups with revolvers whereas I need to have a good day to shoot a semi real tight. What do you guys/gals think would be a good first revolver? Personally I'd love either a snubbie .38 Smith or Colt or an 8 shot .357 mag Smith but those are two completely different stories. The gun would serve as a range, home defense and maybe occasional carry piece.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Went shooting today

Shoot what you are comfortable with. In a worst case situation I would have the wheel gun. My gut says you need more time with the automatics. (Been thre sucked as well). The extra mag capacity kept me practicing and now I am as good with a Glock as I am with a cheaper revolver. I do believe a quailty revolver will produce slightly better results but we are not shooting for dimes are we?

(Blair County)

Def shoot what you're comfortable with but don't be afraid to keep practicing with those semiautos, you'll get them down! Personally for me I didn't begin making tight groups with a semi auto until I got the trigger control down pat. The best way to do this is with dry fire practice. By yourself a box of snap caps and go to town. It's a much cheaper and more effective way to improve your trigger skills on a semi auto and you will see results your next trip to the range.

Don't lose faith and give up on those autos!!! Practice makes perfect!