Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default I'm having trouble tearing down my SKS

On impulse, I bought an SKS this weekend, but I've been unable to tear it down. I can't get the teardown pin out of the rear of the receiver or get the trigger group out either. Any ideas I can use to get it apart?

Default Re: I'm having trouble tearing down my SKS

try this http://stevespages.com/pdf/sks_china.pdf

im not good at writing directions
    FJB

Good directions, thanks. Using those I was able to get the bolt assembly out and apart, still can't get the release on the trigger group to budge though. I made sure the safety was off, can't see anything else blocking it.

(Berks County)

There is a great tutorial with pictures here at the surplusrifle website also: http://www.surplusrifle.com/sks/index.asp

Right hand column has a the disassmbly/reassembly guides.

One thing, a buddy had a Yugo that wouldn't come apart when he first got it. While we were pushing the trigger group release button/tab, we had to simultaneously pull up on the trigger guard to "pop" it loose.

There was so much dried up cosmolene between the trigger guard and the wood stock it had pretty much glued itself together. It took a little bit of force to get it loose the first time. After a good cleaning out of all the cosmolene, the rifle take down was fine after that.
    "Disperse you Rebels! Damn you! Throw down your Arms and Disperse!" British Major Pitcairn at Lexington April 19, 1775

"Sometimes reasonable men must do unreasonable things" Marvin Heemeyer

On mine the top action piston and hand guard would not come off, eventually I pried it up with a flat head screwdriver. I was replacing the stock and hand guard anyway
    Derrion Albert was my Hero.

(York County)