Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
    (Monroe County)

Default Glock 19 accuracy???

I bought a Glock 19 today. It is a 3rd generation. I bought it used but in what appears to be almost new condition. The gun looks like it was barely used as it has all the original color with no wear except where it fit into a holster. Bore looks new. It was probably used as a duty sidearm and saw little action.

I took it to my home range to see how it shoots. I started shooting at about 20 feet. The shots seemed like they were on the 12x12 paper but all over the place. I then decided to shoot from a seated and sported position. My grip is textbook... and I was resting my hands on a shooting rest. I am very accurate with almost any handgun like this. My grouping improved but no where near what I expected. I was probably getting 8 inches at 20 feet... and grouping on the low side. I'm I expecting too much from the gun? I know it is a subcompact, but hay its a "Glock". It does not seem to be shooting much better then my Keltec P11, although the trigger feel is 100 times better on the Glock. Now that I think about it, the Hi Point C9 shoots better.

I find myself getting much tighter grouping with my Beretta 92 and Taurus 1911 at 50 feet then I am getting with the Glock 19 at 20 feet. I was running out of daylight so I only shoot 50 rounds. I would like to hear some opinions from other Glock 19 owners. Do I just need to practice more and get use to this gun? Is this as good as this gun will shoot? Did I get a bad apple? I'm I missing something?

I also bought a Phonix .22 LR today. Very small gun, much more accurate out to 50 feet. The Glock 19 seems to be the only one I have bad aim with.

I am now thinking I should have bought a Glock 17 which has a longer barrel.

Edit: I forgot to mention I am shooting cheap Walmart Ammo, but I do that of all my guns. The 92FS and 1911 are on target on the less.