Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Philadelphia County)

Default Bizarre Scope Behavior

This is driving me crazy!! I am hoping someone can help me understand a bit of crazy optics behavior. I have a Nikon Buckmaster 6-18 side focus on a CZ 452. The minimum parallax adjustment is 50 yards. I am shooting in a small area, so I am using Remington CBee ammo (33gr, 740fps). Currently, I have zero at 20 yards (I don't normally shoot in such cramped conditions). The mystery is that if I use the same setup, I hit one inch low at 10 yards. According to everything I have referenced, I should be about .4 inches low at 10 yards. How is it possible to be on zero at 20, yet mysteriously too low at 10? Is this some artifact of shooting too close for this scope? Any guesses???

Default Re: Bizarre Scope Behavior

Quote Originally Posted by Redvole View Post
    This is driving me crazy!! I am hoping someone can help me understand a bit of crazy optics behavior. I have a Nikon Buckmaster 6-18 side focus on a CZ 452. The minimum parallax adjustment is 50 yards. I am shooting in a small area, so I am using Remington CBee ammo (33gr, 740fps). Currently, I have zero at 20 yards (I don't normally shoot in such cramped conditions). The mystery is that if I use the same setup, I hit one inch low at 10 yards. According to everything I have referenced, I should be about .4 inches low at 10 yards. How is it possible to be on zero at 20, yet mysteriously too low at 10? Is this some artifact of shooting too close for this scope? Any guesses???
    The answer to your question is that the bullet is still traveling upwards and has not reach the peak of the trajectory at 20 yards. Since the bullet is traveling upwards, at 10 yards it has not traveled "up" as much as it has at 20 yards. Remember that the trajectory of the cartridge isn't a laserbeam straight line, it's a curve. The place where you're zeroed just means that the sights line up perfectly with the curve at that distance.