Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Montgomery County)

Default transporting a firearm in pa

I am a newbie to this forum and need some clarification from someone. I currently have a hand gun registered but have no LTC as of yet. How do I transport the firearm from my everyday home to my vacation home in a pickup truck? Both homes are in the state of PA. Also do I need to disclose to an officer if pulled over that I have the firearm? Thanks in advance.

(Jefferson County)

Default Re: transporting a firearm in pa

Quote Originally Posted by murph1068 View Post
    I am a newbie to this forum and need some clarification from someone. I currently have a hand gun registered but have no LTC as of yet. How do I transport the firearm from my everyday home to my vacation home in a pickup truck? Both homes are in the state of PA. Also do I need to disclose to an officer if pulled over that I have the weapon? Thanks in advance.
    PA doesn't have a gun registration.

As to transporting between your home and vacation/recreational dwelling - the gun has to be completely unloaded, with any loaded magazines in a separate container, and the gun securely wrapped. Loose or boxed cartridges can be in the same container as the gun. It doesn't have to be in the trunk or other distant location in the vehicle. ...that part only applies for interstate transporting.

You do not need to notify an officer if pulled over.
    RIP: SFN, 1861, twoeggsup, Lambo, jamesjo, JayBell, 32 Magnum, Pro2A, mrwildroot, dregan, Frenchy, Fragger, ungawa, Mtn Jack, Grapeshot, R.W.J., PennsyPlinker, Statkowski, Deanimator, roland, aubie515

Don't end up in my signature!

(Berks County)

in this case, is he permitted to make any stops along the way?

(Bucks County)

Quote Originally Posted by knight0334 View Post
    PA doesn't have a gun registration.