Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    (Cumberland County)

Default My Ruger MKIII HATES CCI Standard Velocity Ammo. HUH?

I buy tons of .22 ammo. A different flavor every week it seems. Lately I've been trying to get some consistency for accuracy's sake. I picked up a 500 round box of CCI Standard Velocity and headed to the range with the MKIII and the M&P 15-22. I shot the 15-22 for a little and loaded the MKIII. I started shooting and the second round jammed, over shot the feed ramp. I popped the round out, it was all beat up from having the bolt smash it against the wall above the breach. I shot the rest of the mag no problems. Next mag, second round jams. What the heck?

I should mention, before shooting the CCI ammo I shot about 50 rounds of assorted ammo I had with me. I shot Remington Thunderbolts, Winchester Wildcats, Remington Subsonics, and some Winchester bulk pack stuff. None of it jammed, it all worked perfectly. (I had to clean out my "assorted .22" box.)

After 6 or 7 mags jamming on the second round I tried loading fewer rounds, that did nothing. I tried only loading 2 rounds, that actually worked. I discovered that the rounds had a LOT of wax on them. I don't know if this is typical for Standard Velocity, I've never seen it with any other CCI rimfire ammo. Turns out the wax was gumming up the magazines. Anybody else ever have a problem like this? It was so strange, especially because the MKIII will eat anything.

So what's the deal with waxy ammo?

ETA; Here's what a M&P 15-22 can do at 100 yards.

5 shot group using Eley and a 9x scope. I was shocked when I saw this. My other groups from 100 yards are about dinner plate sized, so I'm calling this one a fluke. A sexy fluke, but a fluke nonetheless. I've been trying to establish the accuracy I can wring out of this gun, and this is far and away the best I've done yet.
    Selling off a a sizeable Spyderco collection here