Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    (Bucks County)

Default Learning to shoot: irons or red dot

I just purchased my first handgun (u22 neos) and have probably only shoot ~700 rounds in my life time. My question is...

When learning to shoot a handgun is it better to start with iron sights or red dot?

I have read different things...the great shooters use iron signts, once you use a red dot its hard to go back, its good to learn with a red dot so you can focus on grip, stance, and trigger control, etc...

Which is these is correct and what is the best way to learn how to shoot a handgun accurately?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Learning to shoot: irons or red dot

I am by no means an expert but when learning to shoot a rifle or handgun I was taught to use iron sights. The reason is you want your grip, stance, and trigger control to work in conjunction with your sight alignment and picture.

I found transitioning to a different sighting device such as a scope or red dot is much easier with all the basics down including the use of the iron sights.

(Philadelphia County)

I replaced the Hunter sights (Hi Viz) on my Ruger Mark 22/45 with iron sights. The Hi Viz sights work well when there are good light conditions.

(Jefferson County)

Start out with irons first. Using scopes or red-dots may promote "lazy aiming"* which could may using irons later more difficult to learn. ...sorta the same theory of starting out on an automatic transmission making learning a manual more difficult. Use scopes for necessity first, convenience second, and all other reasons last - start out on irons then work to using scopes for further ranges.

*"lazy aiming" - a term coined by my dad when I was growing up for those who are more just trigger pullers than real shooters. As odd as it may sound, I have witnessed it with people I've taught to shoot.