Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Luzerne County)

Default Armed guards and PA Act 235

Recently, I read in the newspaper that gas companies were employing armed guards. Do these armed guards need PA Act 235 certification to indeed be "armed guards" ? Can I as a property owner refuse to allow an armed guard to be on my property and must he leave if I ask him to?

(Monroe County)

Default Re: Armed guards and PA Act 235

IANAL

In my limited understanding:
    • To carry a firearm as part of your job, in PA, you must at minimum be ACT 235 certified.
    • If, you, as a property owner, choose to post a sign that says "No firearms Alllowed" no one, short of an LEO, has the right to carry a firearm on your property.

Remember I am not a lawyer and there are many others, much more well versed in these matters, on this forum.
    A great many people think they are thinking when they are really rearranging their prejudices. William James

Well, the utility company's have a legal right of way to access and protect their "Property." When you bought your home,house, property, you were notified of any existing utilities and their right of way which just happens to be surrounded by "your property."

I think you would be hard pressed to remove an armed guard or restrict their employment with no tresspassing or no weapons allowed signage.

CL

(Lycoming County)

Quote Originally Posted by nailer View Post
    Recently, I read in the newspaper that gas companies were employing armed guards. Do these armed guards need PA Act 235 certification to indeed be "armed guards" ? Can I as a property owner refuse to allow an armed guard to be on my property and must he leave if I ask him to?