Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association
    (Montgomery County)

Default Newbie Gun Club and Range Question

I want to apologize if this is already posted on a sticky somewhere, but I am a newbie to gun ownership and I am looking for a good Gun Club or Range for me and my old man (seasoned gun owner) to join. I live in the Hatboro area and wanted to see if there was any feedback on the local gun clubs and ranges, and if it was necessary to join. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Newbie Gun Club and Range Question

Conastoga rod and gun and lower providence rod and gun are near your area.
    I am not a member of either, however most rod and guns clubs will require a membership fee.

(Montgomery County)

I'm iin the same area -- if you want to get together and shoot let me know. There are public ranges as well as private clubs in the area you might want to look at:

Public Ranges:

Classic Pistol (http://www.classicpistol.com/) -- very nice indoor range, can shoot pistol, shotgun, rifle, even full auto if you have it but max distance is 25 yards. Rate is $15 an hour for handguns, a little more for long arms. Nice selection of rentals as well which may come in handy if you're a newbie and want to try before you buy something new (they also have a decent selection of new/used guns for sale, and a crackerjack gunsmith). Memberships are available if you end up wanting to shoot there a lot. It is a nice place - does tend to get crowded on Saturdays in particular. Search the forum and you'll see what kind of feedback others have on CP.

Wicen's Farm (http://www.wicenshootingrange.com/) - outdoor range in Warwick Twp., Bucks County. Rifle, shotgun and pistol. Fairly inexpensive for a public range ($15 a day) but you also have to pay for "safety badges" for each category of gun you want to use. They're $7 each, but you only have to pay for them once. I've enjoyed shooting there several times.