Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Thread: Stuck casing

(Allegheny County)

Default Stuck casing

So i am relatively new to the wonderfull world of gun ownership and i had a slightly unsettling experience today. I went to the range this evening to get in some low light practice. Earlier i had purchased a bag of 357 mag SWC reloads (cause they were like $8 for 50 as apposed to dicks that had a "sale" for $10 more...sheesh). I have had this revolver for about a year and a half. It is a Rossi that i picked up second hand for a good deal. It may be nothing special to some but it was my first hand gun and still the one that keep by the bed. Anyway after putting about 18 rounds through as i was trying to drop out the empty casings they didn't come out. So i tryed to push the ejector (i know this may not be the correct name of the bar that forces out the empty so if there is a real name...) bar out and it was stuck. I ended up using my pocket knife to pop out the empties one by one. There was one that was really jammed in there and i had to use a piece of metal to force it out from the front of the chamber. It was bulged out at the base. I checked out the gun and decided to keep shooting the same ammo and had no problems. Could some one tell me why that happened? Also should i be concerned about the pistol?
    -A

Default Re: Stuck casing

was just the one case bulged? Did it seem that one went off with more kick than the other?? i'm thinking maybe there was a double powder charges or something like that. if you fired more and had no issues I wouldn't worry about it, but make sure you check real god in the barrel and cylinder for any bulges.

(Allegheny County)

yea XD it was just the one. i didnt notice if it went off with more bang but its more than possible. I gave it a real good cleaning when i got home and there seems to be no damage to the cilander or the barrel...