Pennsylvania Firearm Owners Association

Default Would like to purchase a pistol.

I'm 19 & interested in purchasing a pistol, preferably a sig sauer p229. I don't want to carry it around with me or anything like that. I just want to own a gun to go to shooting with at a gun range. I've gone shooting before & everything I just don't know the PA laws. I'm a Philadelphia resident, clean record, all that good stuff. I'm interested in a career in law enforcement so I really don't wanna break any laws & get convicted, obviously. I don't even know if I can purchase a pistol at my age to begin with. Any help on how to go about this would be great.

(Berks County)

Default Re: Would like to purchase a pistol.

This site will tell you what you need to know.

http://www.nraila.org/Issues/FactSheets/Read.aspx?ID=43

(York County)

Default Re: Would like to purchase a pistol.

Quote Originally Posted by yeaboy78 View Post
    I'm 19 & interested in purchasing a pistol, preferably a sig sauer p229. I don't want to carry it around with me or anything like that. I just want to own a gun to go to shooting with at a gun range. I've gone shooting before & everything I just don't know the PA laws. I'm a Philadelphia resident, clean record, all that good stuff. I'm interested in a career in law enforcement so I really don't wanna break any laws & get convicted, obviously. I don't even know if I can purchase a pistol at my age to begin with. Any help on how to go about this would be great.
    You can't purchase a handgun from a FFL until you're 21, however you can buy one from a parent or grandparent without a transfer, or find a private party willing to sell you one, then find a sheriff willing to transfer it to you, which very few will. If a parent or grandparent bought a handgun for you as a gift it would be legal, as would selling you a gun that they already have. However, if they buy it with the intention of selling it to you that would be considered an illegal straw purchase.